Custom mail-bag

I’ve recently had the good fortune of coming across Scott of “Don’t Mourn, Organize!”, a leather craftsman based in Utah. I have seen some examples of his work (belt and bags, mostly), and was very happy when I found out he does rivet work on his leather products.

 

Anyway, long story short~ I had this bag custom-made by him… the design is based on the 1960’s inspired mail-bag that Kurt of ‘faith’ has done, but with a few modifications (e.g. different riveting methods, replacing the cowhide strap with the stronger  & more durable horsehide, heavy American steer hide for front flap instead of English bridle, new brass hardware instead of vintaged, an elevated opening-band, etc).

 

The image below belongs to Scott – he took it right after oiling the front flap, so the colour is darker/more blotchy than normal.

The colour overall is a light tan, and will age to a lovely russet patina after some months or years of use.

 

 

I’ll post many more pictures and share all the little details once I receive the mail-bag.

Scott is also kindly making a belt of my own design for me (errrr, when I said my design, I mean based off various aspects of Kawatako’s, faith’s & KC’s designs), out of a heavy 15 oz natural, vegetable tanned leather which he says is the best he’s seen – looking forward to it!

3 thoughts on “Custom mail-bag

  1. 這個不錯喔!!看來您也花了不少的心思 :)

    第一次來您的Blog參觀
    謝謝您的多方面支持

Leave a Reply

