Angelos Wallet – all the way from Taiwan!

Got my Angelos’ no. 2 medium wallet in natural cattlehide yesterday.
Workmanship is impeccable!

The burnish is baby bottom smooth (ok, a small exaggeration).

Every angle and every linen-stitch well planned and expertly executed.

Can’t praise it enough, especially considering the asking price!

 

Here are some pictures, background with my Roy x Cone contest jeans:


ImageShack, share photos, pictures, free image hosting, free video hosting, image hosting, video hosting, photo image hosting site, video hosting site

 

The leather is a very raw (unfinished) vegetable tanned cattlehide.

The phlobaphene red-spots were really noticeable after one layer of horse oil…a sign of it’s modern day bark tan.

Nice and dense, with a smooth grain which is already showing signs of wear after a day.

ImageShack, share photos, pictures, free image hosting, free video hosting, image hosting, video hosting, photo image hosting site, video hosting site

ImageShack, share photos, pictures, free image hosting, free video hosting, image hosting, video hosting, photo image hosting site, video hosting site

 

After a bit of treatment with oils and waxes:



 

Would strongly recommend Angelos’ wallets if you’re shopping around for one.

Quality and value are hard to beat, and they offer their wallets in a French cordovan too!

7 thoughts on “Angelos Wallet – all the way from Taiwan!

  1. hey there. that wallet is really well made!

    i’ve been checking out your blog for quite sometime. found it after i googled “Godane Wallet” LOL.

    i nearly purchased a black crocodile godane wallet from rakuten. fortunately, i didn’t. the wallet you had was a monster. i’ll rip my jeans to shreds haha.

    btw, did you have to converse with angelo in mandarin? i have been wanting to get a new wallet for quite sometime. i am really impress with angelo’s craftsmanship

    could you tell me a little more about french cordovan? is it similar to shell cordovan?

    cheers mate..

    1. Chris at Angelos can converse in both Mandarin and English, so feel free to contact him in either languages!
      The French cordovan is a shell AFAIK – I don’t have any more info. on this, best to ask Chris directly or someone on SuperFuture who has both the French and US cordovans.

  2. alright. sweet man. i am thinking of making an entire set from him! all in black.

    i just need to decide on either horsehide or cowhide!

    did you pay via paypal?

  3. Hey, Angelo’s wallet is soo nice. Ive been meaning to replace my current saddleback. I was wondering how do you get into contact with Angelo or Chris. Thanks a bunch guys!

      1. Hi there,
        I stumbled upon your very interesting blog the other night while starting a ‘test blog’, considering starting something similar. I cant find an email contact here for you so I figured that I would write. You seem to be an expert when it comes to leather goods and I was hoping to get some advice from you regarding conditioning an old pair of leather motorcycle pants whose bottoms have acquired some water damage. The leather is stiffer and darker…. If you would be willing to take a look at a couple of pictures I would love your input. Do you have a shop? are you a collector? I had a little mostly vintage and art shop/studio in Portland for a while and collect and sell vintage clothes(sell when desperate, keep when I can…) I was also thinking that you might be looking for somethings… I have and get quite a bit through the portland goodwill ‘bins’- you may have heard of the place. I have some really rare and interesting things as well as the standard westerns, wool shirts, etc…. so if you are buying feel free to send along a list. I am looking for repeat wholesale buyers, as well as collectors for some of the more prized things. In any event, you blog is very entertaining…. I wish I read it a week earlier- I passed up a perfect pair or ROY jeans at the bins the other day πŸ™‚
        Cheers, and I hope to hear from you. jeremiah.bok at gmail

Leave a Reply

