Catappa dyeing

A couple of days ago I finally got around to dyeing one of my SDA off-white sweatshirts.
I tried a little concoction of Indian Almond (Terminalia catappa) leaves and some Taiwanese highland tea-leaves.

 

Boiled the ingredients for 30 minutes, and left soaking overnight:

Decided not to blend the ingredients, as I didn’t want a proper brown.

In it goes for a full-day soak:

I chucked the sweatshirt in for two machine-washes, with detergent, to remove excess dyes:

 

I have a couple of spots of darker staining, but oh well, I’m happy with my very amateur results.

 

Also dyed a SDA T-shirt and an Eternal ‘Kula’ polo-shirt just yesterday, with the same solution – more pics of those later on πŸ™‚

Now I have to decide what colour (and how) to dye the other sweatshirt… Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

