Plum blossum buckle

Something a little different from the usual leathers and denim – a solid copper belt buckle hand-made by silversmith Jaime of Bella-Bijou Jewellery, Vancouver, Canada.

I’m not usually a flower man, but the Prunus Mume is the nation flower where I was born, and is a very special flower!

IIRC it is technically an apricot, and not a plum…but that’s beside the point.

Would love to have a few trees when I eventually get my own backyard, but in the meantime I had Jaime cut out the blossom for me on the buckle.

Absolutely fantastic hand-worked details in everything from the brass & copper rivets to the oxidised depths.

Certainly a lot of time & effort went into this buckle.

That copper and brass, yummmmm……

I can only see this fantastic piece of metal look better with age 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Plum blossum buckle

  1. Wow, thank you so much for this write up Mike! LOVE your photos too!
    It was a pleasure making this for you, and so wonderful creating for someone who appreciates handmade like this!
    Cheers and thanks again for challenging me 🙂
    Jaime

Leave a Reply

