A project belt?

It’s that time of the year again when I start tossing up ideas for a project belt.

After the success of the previous projects I did with Terry Dear and Scott Willis, each yeilding magnificent leathers and wonderfully made belts, my itch to rediscover natural vegetable tanned leather has been ignited once more by the russet Baker Belt from Equus Leather.

Long time readers might remember that I wanted to work with an East Asian craftsman/workshop this time around, but unfortunately at this stage I haven’t found a leather from that region which pushes the limits enough to warrant a group project.

***

A leather which does tick all the right boxes, though, is the “bridle butt” leather, again from Baker’s of Colyton.

Charlie at Equus was kind enough to send along a couple of samples – a stained harness and the undyed butt:

Both came in at very good weights, between 12.5 to 15 oz.

Not just heavy though, but also dense.

Look at this:

And this:

And also this:

Can we handle having this wrapped around our waist?

Heavier I say! At least 15 oz 🙂

Anyway, I like the stained harness, a nice waxy texture and very pliable, evidencing the high fat and wax content in the leather.

I could use a work belt made from that!

But for a possible project belt? It has to be an undyed leather, I reckon, for the creation of an ultimate belt to match your artisan denims!

I’m thinking a double-prong buckle combined with a 1.5 inch wide strap – a bit of military feel to combine nicely with jeans.

Though if this project does happen, it would be a strictly limited affair – 15 oz + bridle butts don’t pop up every day –  so please watch this space as I await what magic Equus and Baker’s can bring to this project.

More details soon!

4 thoughts on “A project belt?

  1. I’m in! 🙂 My first thick leather belt is on it’s way from America with my bag right now…

      1. Of course! I told unlucky that you might want to mention it on your blog… 🙂 I can’t wait for it to arrive! It’s a surprisingly pale leather; needs some work with my new conditioner, methinks.

Leave a Reply

