Following up on the bridle horse leather coin pouch…

Here it is, after a couple of months of daily use.

The shine on the bridle finish on the horsehide is now deeper and more lustrous.

The grain is beginning to pop out – becoming more defined and giving the another layer of complexity to the overall texture of the leather.

Really quite different from regular (cattlehide) bridle leathers.

It’s somewhat minimalist in construct (it was my intention for it to be so), but Scott’s work is holding up beautifully.

There is some imprinting of the outline of coins at the backside, though for a single-leather construct I must say this bridle horse is immensely durable:

The NOS black snap buttons are beginning to show wear as well…

Wearing in a rather graceful way – none of the nasty chipped-paint appearance that often occurs on cheap snaps.

Really can’t wait to see how this pouch will turn out in a few months time – both the leather & hardware are showing so much potential!

I have to say, this bridle horsehide from Clayton is one of the best leathers I’ve come across, regardless of tannage.

Drop Scott a line at Don’t Mourn, Organize! to see for yourself🙂

Following up on the bridle horse leather coin pouch…

7 thoughts on “Following up on the bridle horse leather coin pouch…

  1. Elbert says:

    Hello Mike,

    I’m sorry if this post isn’t related to those fabulous coin pouch of yours. I just don’t find any other link/email to contact you.

    I’m interested in customizing a card case for the ladies. Do you have any links / whatever it is that can provide me lots of design for it?

    Best regards,

    1. Hi Elbert,
      Unfortunately no, I don’t have a ready source of designs. All the stuff on this blog is either repro or designed by the craftsmen or myself.

  2. Julius says:

    Hi Mike,

    So many wonderful entries on your blog, it would be hard to single out one; rather, to remark, that those on leather goods and denim are always informative and engaging.

    As a result I have a few questions for you:

    Is Horween shell not vegetable tanned? ( “To be honest, I always held the opinion that a high quality vegetable tanned horsehide is a better leather than shell cordovan.” )

    Horsehide, of course, makes beautiful shoes. But what about its use for belts? I know there are horsehide belts made, and that they are, like the shoes, more expensive. However, is it ideal for belt making? It doesn’t have to be the the ubiquitous burgundy, or black, traditionally associated with horsehide footwear and other items, does it? (e.g. Alden’s Whiskey Shell Cordovans.)

    I’m sure I’ve well and truly missed the boat, but are there, perchance, any belts from your latest project going begging?

    Lastly, I note you wrote that you sized-up 1 for your Oni 1001-HM which are a tag size 36 ( so raw size 38.5″? ). But, if you don’t mind sharing, what is your actual waist size? I’m curious to know what your strategy is to achieve your desired fit. If I’m not mistaken all your Onis are tts 36″.

    Many thanks.



    1. Hi Julius,
      Thanks for your nice words!
      Shell cordovan in general is produced via a vegetable tannage with heavy post-tan processing.
      What I mean by vegetable tanned horsehide is horsehide that is vegetable tanned but minimally finished (compared to shell) with the grain facing out.

      I do have a veg. tanned horsehide belt (double layered) and I must say horsehide makes a great strap leather.
      Unlike regular horsehide, however, shell cordovan usually doesn’t come in belting length for the waist of a full grown man, if you’re looking for a single strap belt – hides where the two pieces of shell are connected are relatively scarce, so I’ve been told.
      The downside with horsehide as belting leather is that the maximum thickness would usually be below 10 oz, so unless you do multiple layers, the belt won’t be as thick as cattlehide belts can be.
      This is not so much a problem if you’re not into thick belts.
      Colour selection just depends on which colours the tannery happen to make (or can custom make), or whether your craftsman/workshop can do custom dyeing.

      Re: jeans fitting, my true waist is around 35. I could have sized down to a 34, but I do prefer a slightly more relaxed fit.


  3. Julius says:

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for sharing your knowledge again.

    The intricacies of leather like denim production are truly fascinating!

    I guess I’ll have to standby for your next belt project.

    I can see you don’t like to have to wrestle too much with your jeans — I’m with you on that one!

    Of all the leather feeds and conditioners you have used, what’s your pick?
    Is there one that is particularly good for natural/blonde finishes? Also, is it mink oil you use on your denim leather patches? If so is there a brand you can you recommend and where to buy it?

    I hope you don’t mind me fielding so many questions. The conversations a bit like one way traffic. I’d like to redress the balance but that’s not so easy in the form of a blog.

    Cheers mate,


    1. Hi Julius,

      Regarding the project belts, Terry Dear has incorporated the Quercus belt as part of his regular offerings, so it is available readily from him.
      Charlie at Equus may still be taking orders for the Military belt – I’m not sure what his stock for the russet bridle is like, it’s best if you shoot him an e-mail.

      No, I don’t use mink oil for my leather products.
      I would recommend trying a range of products available to you locally, and then perhaps trying some overseas products if the leather hobby really interests you.
      It’s hard to say which is best, and I regularly switch between products in hopes of finding new & novel feeds!


Leave a Reply

